Butter…..

Well this is pretty much as it says…today I made butter. It’s something I’ve done before but I had a bit of a eureka moment today.

Now this may seem obvious …because it does to me….now….we get our milk from a local farm…straight from the cow. It is lovely milk and it has a fairly high fat content. Every week we collect 10 (ish) litres from the farm and use it through the course of the week it works out a lot cheaper than buying it from the shops (currently $1 per litre…whereas the shops here it averages around $1.75).

T and I were discussing the layer of cream that sits on the top of the milk which we have to shake in every time we decant some into a milk carton…..we decided we don’t need to drink that high a fat content milk throughout the week and there was something much more useful we could do with it….make butter Nerd smile

Like I say it’s obvious to us now but it hadn’t occurred to us before. ..so this afternoon we decanted the milk into another keg leaving the layer of cream in the other one and then…..

DSC04162

 Cream into the mixer with the whisk attachment and then onto a medium speed and start making butter…..Now all in all there was just under 2 litres of cream.

Now the mixer just gets on a does it’s thing until the cream gets thicker and thicker and then the solids start to split from the liquids….now this took quite a while as there was 2 litres of cream – DSC04164you can hear the sound changes as the cream splits and the solids start to clump together…makes a kind of sloshing noise…it’s easier to listen for this as I had the whole thing covered with a tea towel because it does splatter a fair bit.

 

After this you need to get a sieve and bowl and strain the solidskeep these though because this is traditional buttermilk great for making soda bread, scones etc

DSC04173Put the butter back into a clean bowl and beat with the whisk for a further 30 seconds to 1 minute to remove more buttermilk. Remove and sieve again as before….with this amount we got about 1.25 litres of buttermilk.

The next stage is to wash the butter….you need to wash as much of the buttermilk out of the solids very cold water. Use the butter pats or your clean hands to knead the butter to force out as much buttermilk as possible. This is important, as any buttermilk left in the butter will sour and the butter will go off quickly. You need to do this fairly quickly because if you handle the butter too much with warm hands, it will liquefy.

Wash it at least twice more or until the water is clear after washing…and keep using icey cold water.

Job done….unless you’re wanting to have salted butter (which will keep longer)….at this point you need to add the salt (now everything I found said 1/4 teaspoon of dairy salt for every 100g…well I didn’t have dairy salt so good old table salt it was ( I don’t know if there’s any difference)…this amount of cream produced 427g butter – I added 1/2 teaspoon of table salt which I reckon was good for our taste for salted butter.

DSC04170

2 responses to “Butter…..

  1. I love homemade butter, I think it tastes so much better than store bought. if you try adding Aroma B and let the cream sit overnight (there are other steps too) then whip it up into butter, it takes it to the next level for flavour

  2. Thanks for that ..I’ve never made cultured butter myself but a local cheese maker sells it and I’ve had it from there but given it seems a simple enough thing to do I think I’ll give it a go myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

