Au Revoir…Goodbye cake…

How do you say farewell to friends who are leaving? …well this is how I do it (please excuse the shadow I didn’t notice it until after the cake had gone).

DSC03648

We have friends who are returning to the UK in the next couple of weeks….Clare and Ben are two of the nicest people I know and I (we) will be so sad to see them go.  We don’t live in each other’s pockets by any means but they are a couple who’s interests match many of ours…..cheese-making, rearing out own animals for food trying to live the “good life” thing in much the same way as we are trying to.

So this is my way of saying Farewell, we’ll miss you, good luck ….

I wanted to try doing a mixture of mediums to create this cake…I saw a cake done similarly on the internet and really liked it …so I wanted to try and create a  bit of a water colour thing but also wanted to use fondant because it’s what I feel comfortable with.

The bits around the outside are kiwiana..things that if you live in new Zealand they are familiar….the two green Tiki’s, some Paua shells and my version of a bone carving which is made up of a triple twist (this represents the joining together of two people, or two cultures for eternity and even though they may experience life’s ups and downs they remain bonded by friendship and loyalty for life.) and at the bottom a Koru ( is a spiral shape based on the shape of a new unfurling silver fern frond and symbolizing new life, growth, strength and peace). 

We had the farewell do last night to say goodbye (although they are actually leave the beginning of February). It went down well which was a good thing but because of the amount of food that was at their leaving do it didn’t get cut…..but my friend works at the Neonatal unit ….so I guess there are going to be a lot of nurses and mums with babies in the special care unit going to be eating cake in the next day or so….and that feels like it’s served not one but two purposes ….I like that…A LOT Smile

Leave a Reply

