No–Bake Peanut Butter Ricies (Rice Krispies) bars…

So I woke up this morning at around 6.30am..

Why?…………..I have no idea I don't know smile but I was up and about (as was the small one) and so I might as well do something with that time.

Got Small his breakfast and then thought I’d make some snack bars for the lunch box.

I knew I had all the ingredients to make the peanut butter Ricies bars and they are quick to make.

DSC02831

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of  Glucose syrup (light corn syrup)
  • 3/4 cup of granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup of light brown sugar
  • 2 cups salted peanut butter (I use crunchy)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 6 cups Ricies (Rice Krispies)

How to:

  • Lightly oil a baking tray (I used greaseproof paper the first time I did these….big mistake…lots of bars with lots of paper stuck to them!!!….and just so you know ..yes I peeled every little last bit off the bottom of those flippin bars!!!)
  • Place the glucose syrup and the sugars into a large pan over a medium heat and slowly heat them up mixing as you go. Bringing it to the boil.
  • Remove the pan off the heat and then stir in the peanut butter and mix it well.
  • Quickly stir in the vanilla and the Ricies and then spread them out onto the baking tray so you make an even layer.

Before it cools too much I mark out the bars with a knife. The leave to cool and voila!

It’s quick enough that small took a couple of bars in his lunch box today.

2 responses to “No–Bake Peanut Butter Ricies (Rice Krispies) bars…

  1. I used to make these all the time for the kids. They always went fast.

  2. I had never made them before…can’t believe it but I hadn’t! Mind you they are definitely going fast so will be making them again (possibly sooner than I had planned LOL!!)

Leave a Reply

