Today mostly I’ll be making Cheese ……

Well as the title says yesterday (not today) I spent the day making cheese. I am so pleased I have finally found somewhere I can get raw milk from (which until my cows can have calves I really need) and I can get easily as much as I need…….so yesterday I got 40 litres (in fact a little bit more).

So I spent the day making cheese and put 25 litres of milk to what I think was good use.

Collages1

In the end

Gouda ~ did one large one which I cut in half and 2 small ones – one I put cracked black pepper in (I had this made by a commercial company and really liked it)…altogether around 3kgs (61/2 lbs)of cheese

Had huge amounts of whey left so that was used 2 ways..

Ricotta ~ I would say about 1kg (2lbs)
…….and after that had been strained what was left went out to the pigs this morning….so nothing was wasted….I like that…a lot Smile

~

I’ve still got 20 litres or so left so I’m thinking Mozzarella either today or tomorrow.

It’s been a bit of a revelation to rediscover just how fascinating milk is. Don’t get me wrong I think I’ve always though it was amazing because there are so many things you can do / make with milk but cheese making has given me a completely different appreciation of it all over again …..

Does that make me sound sad ?!!!…Oh gawd I sound like I have no life and now I find milk fascinating!!! Ahhh well  I’ll just go and sit quietly and rock in a corner LOL!! Nyah-Nyah

2 responses to “Today mostly I’ll be making Cheese ……

  1. Enjoyed your pictures of the process and equipment. In a few months you will have some great cheese. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thankyou…I hope so. It will be the first time I’ve got to try out my new “cheese cave” (a wine fridge) so will be interesting to see how they turn out. The last lot of cheeses I did were a bit hit and miss because it was so hard to regulate the temperature of the chilly bin I was using!…they tasted lovely but this will be another thing altogether so fingers crossed 🙂

Leave a Reply

