Farewell Margaret Mahy….

New Zealand children’s author Margaret Mahy, who wrote more than 120 books and earned acclaim at home and abroad, has died at the age of 76.

The Moon and Farmer McPhee, The Haunting, The Changeover, A Lion in the Meadow, The Seven Chinese Brothers and The Man Whose Mother was a Pirate…among her works …..she loved reading her stories to children and often dressed up in wonderful costumes…

Farewell to Margaret Mahy....x x x

She won the Carnegie Medal in 1982 and 1984, making her the first writer outside Britain to receive the award.

For her contributions to children’s literature she was made a member of the Order of New Zealand in 1993.

The Margaret Mahy Medal Award was established by the New Zealand Children’s Book Foundation in 1991 to provide recognition of excellence in children’s literature, publishing and literacy in New Zealand.

In March 2009, she was commemorated as one of the Twelve Local Heroes, and a bronze bust of her was unveiled outside the Christchurch Arts Centre.

In 2006, she became the 28th recipient of the so-called Nobel Prize for children’s literature, the biennial international Hans Christian Andersen Award for Writing

Margaret, who lived in Christchurch, was diagnosed with Cancer in April and in only a short time New Zealand lost a national treasure.

 Aere ra – Rest in Peace x x x


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s