Ricotta..

I made Ricotta from the whey I gathered from the two cheeses I made..this morning it was well and truly drained but still lovely and moist. I would love to say I left it overnight on purpose but truth be known I forgot about it last night!!! LOL !!!

I made Ricotta last week with my other cheeses but this time I tried leaving the whey for 24 hours (rather than adding vinegar to acidify it) as I had read somewhere that acidifying it this way gives a smoother cheese…well it was right. Adding the vinegar and making it straight away resulted in quite a grainy cheese – leaving it 24 hours produced a much nicer, smoother cheese….so that’s the way to go in the future.

So as an exercise just to see how efficient making our own cheese is from a cost point of view I had a little look about…..

Ricotta here in NZ at one of the supermarkets is anything between $5-14 for a 250g tub. The amount I got from the whey yesterday was 450g

So the sums:

  • Milk                          = $12:00
  • Starter Culture           = $  1.50
  • Gas                          = $  5.00
  • TOTAL                      = $18.50

(I don’t know if the amount I’ve allowed for the gas is accurate but I am allowing this much as an over estimation)

So for a kilo of Gouda and Cheddar and 450g of Ricotta I am more than happy that it’s efficient from a financial point of view. Efficient from a time point of view ….mmmm…well it does take a lot of time to do but if these cheeses come out tasting good then it’s time I’m happy to invest….we’ll have to wait and see …March for the Gouda and the Cheddar- May at the earliest…you see it’s teaching patience 🙂

Leave a Reply

